Hawlik Hericium review: ingredients and dosages compared
By the Mush n Go editorial team - 22 October 2026
By the Mush n Go editorial teamPublished on 22 October 20269 min read
Hawlik review
Hawlik Hericium Extrakt capsules, from a German brand that has made mushroom supplements since 1980, provide 1,200 mg of organic lion's mane extract a day, including 360 mg of polysaccharides, in four capsules. It is a specialist's product, built around a single mushroom and very well documented. Focus, by Mush n Go, makes a different choice: just one capsule a day, which combines lion's mane with four plants and two vitamins, at a lower price per day. Here are the two labels, line by line.
Who is writing: Mush n Go makes Focus, a product that competes with the one from Hawlik. This page compares what each brand states on its website and, for Focus, the technical data sheet from our contract manufacturer. Figures recorded on 19 October 2026. We have no connection with Hawlik.
Focus
Lion's mane from the fruiting body, ginkgo, bacopa, saffron and maritime pine, with vitamins B2 and B3. One capsule in the morning.
Try Focus →Brainstoorm coffee flavour
Lion's mane, cordyceps and chaga in a coffee-flavoured cup, with just 20 mg of caffeine.
Discover Brainstoorm →Our verdict in brief
High-dose lion's mane on its own, or a complete formula in one capsule.
Hawlik Hericium Extrakt and Focus start from the same mushroom, from the fruiting body. Hawlik concentrates it and offers it on its own, with a little acerola, at four capsules a day. Mush n Go creates a formula: in it, lion's mane sits alongside ginkgo, bacopa, saffron and maritime pine, with two B vitamins, in one capsule.
- Focus is for you if you want a complete formula in just one capsule a day, a gentler price per day, and 60 days to try it, even once the box is open.
- Hawlik Hericium Extrakt is for you if you are looking for the highest dose of lion's mane, certified organic, with no other ingredient than acerola, and you do not mind taking four capsules a day.
- On price, Focus is cheaper: €1.42 a day as a one-off purchase, €0.78 on a three-month subscription; Hawlik costs €2.26 a day in a box of 60, €1.67 in a box of 240.
What is Hawlik
A German mushroom specialist, also sold in pharmacies.
Hawlik Gesundheitsprodukte is a Bavarian company, near Munich, which claims more than forty years of experience in mushroom supplements. Its Hericium range includes six products, from powder to liquid extract. We chose the extract capsules, the top seller in its online shop. They have a pharmacy product code in Germany.
The ingredients in detail
What is in four Hawlik capsules.
The Hawlik product page gives the weight of extract and its polysaccharide and beta-glucan content, specifies that the extract comes solely from the fruiting body, hot-water extracted, and that the stated content is the water-soluble fraction. The extraction ratio is not stated.
| Per 4 capsules | Stated amount | Detail |
|---|---|---|
| Organic lion's mane extract | 1,200 mg | fruiting body, hot-water extraction |
| of which polysaccharides and beta-glucans | 360 mg | 30%; water-soluble fraction |
| Extraction ratio | not stated | |
| Organic acerola extract | 320 mg | |
| of which vitamin C | 54 mg | 67% of the reference intake |
| Capsule | plant-based | HPMC |
Source: “HAWLIK Bio Hericium Extrakt Kapseln” product page, FAQ and quality page on hawlik-vitalpilze.de, recorded on 19 October 2026. The brand states that the product naturally contains sulphites (more than 10 mg/kg).
Extract or equivalent
Two numbers for the same mushroom: how to read them.
On a mushroom capsule label, the same ingredient can appear with two very different weights. Both are correct; they simply do not measure the same thing. Hawlik shows a weight of extract, with no ratio; Focus shows the weight of extract and its dried-mushroom equivalent. We give both figures on the Focus side.
The extract is what is in the capsule
An extract is a concentrate. With a 10:1 ratio, it took 10 g of dried mushroom to obtain 1 g of powder.
The equivalent is the starting weight
“1,000 mg dry equivalent” with a 10:1 ratio means 100 mg of extract in the capsule.
The part of the mushroom matters
The fruiting body is the mushroom itself; the mycelium is its network of filaments. Both are used, and a clear label says which.
The rule for comparing
Always the same column on both sides: extract against extract, equivalent against equivalent. That is what the following table does.
Dosages compared
Focus and Hawlik Hericium Extrakt, line by line.
The table compares the daily dose of each product: one capsule of Focus, four capsules of Hawlik. For Focus, the dried-plant equivalent appears in brackets where the technical data sheet gives it.
| Per day | Focus | Hawlik Hericium Extrakt |
|---|---|---|
| Capsules per day | 1 | 4 |
| Lion's mane | 250 mg of 4:1 extract (1,000 mg), fruiting body | 1,200 mg of extract, fruiting body, ratio not stated |
| Measured compounds | 75 mg of polysaccharides | 360 mg of polysaccharides and beta-glucans |
| Ginkgo | 60 mg of extract, of which 14.4 mg flavonol glycosides | absent |
| Bacopa | 75 mg of extract, of which 15 mg bacosides | absent |
| Maritime pine | 36 mg of bark extract | absent |
| Saffron | 14 mg of extract | absent |
| Vitamin B3 | 16 mg, 100% of the reference intake | absent |
| Vitamin B2 | 1.4 mg, 100% of the reference intake | absent |
| Vitamin C | absent | 54 mg, 67% of the reference intake |
| Organic | no | yes, certified |
| Capsule | plant-based | plant-based |
Sources: Focus technical data sheet from Laboratoire FGnutra; “HAWLIK Bio Hericium Extrakt Kapseln” product page on hawlik-vitalpilze.de, recorded on 19 October 2026.
On lion's mane alone, Hawlik is clearly ahead: nearly five times more extract per day, organic, with a stated polysaccharide content. Focus is not competing on that ground. It brings five extracts together in a single capsule and adds two vitamins at 100% of the reference intake: vitamin B3 contributes to normal psychological function and, like vitamin B2, to the reduction of tiredness and fatigue.
One active or seven
A single mushroom, or a formula with seven actives.
This is the real difference between the two products. Hawlik isolates one mushroom and concentrates it: you know exactly what you are taking. If you want lion's mane, and only lion's mane, at a high dose, it is a consistent approach, backed by batch testing.
Mush n Go blends. Focus combines lion's mane with four plants that are often found together in this type of formula, ginkgo, bacopa, saffron and maritime pine, and rounds it off with vitamins B2 and B3. Each extract is standardised: the technical data sheet gives the flavonol glycoside content of the ginkgo or the bacoside content of the bacopa.
How to take it
Focus: one capsule a day, with a meal. Hawlik: two capsules in the morning and two at midday, with meals.
How long it lasts
A box of Focus covers 30 days. A box of 60 Hawlik capsules covers 15 days; a box of 240, 60 days.
The drink
Would you rather drink than swallow a capsule? Brainstoorm brings lion's mane, cordyceps and chaga together in a coffee-flavoured cup.
Price, shipping, guarantee
The price per day, and what the guarantee covers.
Hawlik sells in euros, in Germany and in France; Focus prices are recorded on the France store. The price per day takes into account the dose of each product: one capsule of Focus, four capsules of Hawlik.
| Prices recorded | Focus | Hawlik Hericium Extrakt |
|---|---|---|
| Small size | €42.71 for 30 capsules, i.e. €1.42 per day | €33.90 for 60 capsules, 15 days, i.e. €2.26 per day |
| Large size | €99.86 for 90 capsules, i.e. €1.11 per day | €99.90 for 240 capsules, 60 days, i.e. €1.67 per day |
| Subscription | €29.90 per month, i.e. €1.00 per day; €69.90 for 3 months, i.e. €0.78 | not offered |
| Delivery in France | free from €59 | €9.90; free from €49 in Germany and Austria |
| Money-back guarantee | 60 days, even once the box is open | advertised, conditions not set out in writing; 14-day right of withdrawal, sealed packaging |
Prices recorded on 6 October 2026 on mushngo.com and on 19 October 2026 on hawlik-vitalpilze.de. Hawlik's “Zufrieden oder Geld zurück” guarantee is displayed on the website, with no duration or written conditions on the pages we read; its terms and conditions exclude an unsealed product from the right of withdrawal.
Focus is cheaper per day in every scenario, and the gap widens on subscription. Hawlik has in its favour a much higher dose of lion's mane and return costs covered in the event of withdrawal. On the right to try, Focus is refunded for 60 days, even after the box has been opened.
Which one to choose
High-dose lion's mane, or one capsule that does several things?
If you know that lion's mane is what you want, pure, organic and high-strength, Hawlik capsules are a serious benchmark. If you are looking for a daily capsule for your working days, simple to take and designed as a whole, you are the person we created Focus for.
- One capsule a day, instead of four: 250 mg of lion's mane extract from the fruiting body, i.e. 1,000 mg of dried-mushroom equivalent.
- Four plants on top: ginkgo, bacopa, saffron and maritime pine, each with its content stated.
- Vitamins B2 and B3 at 100% of the reference intake: they contribute to the reduction of tiredness and fatigue.
- A gentler price: €1.42 per day as a one-off purchase, €0.78 on a three-month subscription.
- 60-day money-back guarantee: you try, you decide.
Mush n Go is rated 4.8 out of 5 by its customers.
Before you start
- Both products are food supplements: if you are on medical treatment, ask your doctor for advice before you start.
- Focus is not recommended for pregnant or breastfeeding women.
- Ask your doctor for advice if you take an anticoagulant; Focus is not recommended if you are on antidepressant treatment or have epilepsy.
- A food supplement is not a substitute for a varied diet. Do not exceed the stated daily dose.
Your questions
All about Hawlik.
What is in Hawlik Hericium Extrakt capsules?
Four capsules provide 1,200 mg of organic lion's mane extract from the fruiting body, of which 360 mg are polysaccharides and beta-glucans, and 320 mg of acerola extract, i.e. 54 mg of vitamin C. The capsule is plant-based.
How many Hawlik capsules should you take?
Two capsules twice a day, in the morning and at midday with meals, according to the brand: four a day. A box of 60 covers 15 days. Focus is taken at one capsule a day.
Is Hawlik safe?
Nothing in the information published by the brand points to any particular risk; it states that the product naturally contains sulphites. If you are on medical treatment, pregnant or breastfeeding, ask your doctor for advice.
Is Hawlik organic?
Yes, the brand states an organic certification checked by the control body DE-ÖKO-003. Focus is not certified organic.
How much does Hawlik Hericium Extrakt cost?
€33.90 for the box of 60 capsules, i.e. €2.26 per day, and €99.90 for the box of 240, i.e. €1.67 per day, prices recorded on 19 October 2026. Delivery to France costs €9.90.
Can you get a refund on Hawlik?
The brand displays a money-back guarantee without setting out its conditions on the pages we read; its terms and conditions provide for the statutory 14-day right of withdrawal, excluding unsealed products. Mush n Go refunds Focus for 60 days, even once the box is open.
What is the difference between Hawlik and Focus?
Hawlik Hericium Extrakt is an organic lion's mane extract on its own, at 1,200 mg a day in four capsules. Focus combines 250 mg of lion's mane extract with ginkgo, bacopa, saffron, maritime pine and vitamins B2 and B3, in one capsule.
Does Hawlik deliver to France?
Yes, its website is available in French and delivers to France for €9.90, in 2 to 4 days according to the brand. Focus is delivered free in France from €59.
Sources
- Hawlik. “HAWLIK Bio Hericium Extrakt Kapseln” product page, FAQ, quality page, legal notice, delivery and withdrawal conditions, hawlik-vitalpilze.de. Accessed on 19 October 2026.
- Trusted Shops. Profile of hawlik-vitalpilze.de, 4.81 out of 5. Accessed on 19 October 2026.
- Laboratoire FGnutra. Product technical data sheet “Focus”, edition of 1 April 2026.
- Commission Regulation (EU) No 432/2012 establishing a list of permitted health claims made on foods (vitamins B2 and B3).
Hawlik is a trademark of its owner. The information about this product is what the brand publishes; it may have changed since it was recorded. Spotted a mistake? Write to us and we will correct it.
Further reading
Before you choose, take the time to read the label and understand what each capsule contains.
Discover our mushroom and adaptogenic plant supplements
Our vegan formulas, made in Toulouse by a French manufacturer.















