SparkUp mushroom coffee review: ingredients and dosages compared

SparkUp mushroom coffee review: ingredients and dosages compared

By the Mush n Go editorial team - 09 October 2026

By the Mush n Go editorial teamPublished on 9 October 202610 min read

SparkUp review

SparkUp is one of the most prominent mushroom coffees in Hungary: six mushrooms, 2,000 mg of extracts per cup and 60 mg of caffeine. It is a generous recipe, made in Hungary and available in several flavours. Brainstoorm makes a different choice: 20 mg of caffeine, three times less, and a label where every ingredient has its own dose, where SparkUp gives only a total. Here are the two recipes, line by line.

60 mgof caffeine per serving of SparkUp, according to the brand
20 mgof caffeine per cup of Brainstoorm, released gradually
6mushrooms in SparkUp, total dose stated; 3 in Brainstoorm, each with its own dose
60 daysmoney-back guarantee with Brainstoorm, even once the pouch is open

Who is writing: Mush n Go makes Brainstoorm, a direct competitor of SparkUp. This page compares what each brand states on its website and, for Brainstoorm, the technical data sheet from our contract manufacturer. Figures recorded on 6 October 2026. We have no connection with SparkUp.

20 mg of caffeine · vegan

Brainstoorm coffee flavour

Lion's mane, cordyceps and chaga from the fruiting body, maca, ashwagandha and roasted chicory. The taste of coffee, without the jitters.

Try Brainstoorm →
The cocoa version

Brainstoorm choc-hazelnut

The same mushroom base, with cocoa and rhodiola. 60 days to change your mind, with a money-back guarantee.

See the choc version →

Our verdict in brief

Lots of mushrooms on one side, every dose in writing on the other.

SparkUp and Brainstoorm come in the same format: a 180 g pouch, thirty 6 g servings, one spoonful in water or milk. What sets them apart is the amount of caffeine, the number of mushrooms, and the level of detail each brand gives about its recipe.

  • Brainstoorm is for you if you want little caffeine (20 mg), want to know the dose of every mushroom and every plant, and want to be able to taste it for 60 days before deciding.
  • SparkUp is for you if you want the greatest weight of mushroom extracts, six species in the same cup, real Arabica coffee and a choice of several flavours.
  • On price, SparkUp is cheaper as a one-off purchase: €0.82 per cup in Hungary, versus €1.42 for Brainstoorm; at the best rate, €0.68 versus €0.78.

Discover Brainstoorm, 20 mg of caffeine →

What is SparkUp

A Hungarian brand, launched in 2023.

SparkUp is marketed by the company SparkUp Global Kft. The brand, formerly called RizeUp, says it started out in 2023 and manufactures in Hungary. Its mushroom coffee comes in a plain version and in three flavours (cinnamon, vanilla, caramel), alongside a mushroom cocoa, a mushroom tea and a mushroom matcha.

Format
180 g pouch, 30 servings of 6 g
Mushrooms
6: maitake, lion's mane, chaga, reishi, shiitake, king oyster mushroom
Plants
Ashwagandha and ginseng
Base
Arabica coffee, coconut milk powder, MCT oil
Caffeine
60 mg per serving
Flavours
Plain, cinnamon, vanilla, caramel
Manufacturing
Hungary, according to the brand
Price
8,990 Ft per pouch, i.e. around €24.63

The ingredients in detail

What is in one serving of SparkUp.

SparkUp publishes its ingredient list and one key figure: 2,000 mg of mushroom extracts per serving, i.e. a third of the cup. That is a lot. The brand does not, however, break down the share of each of the six mushrooms, or the dose of ashwagandha and ginseng.

Ingredient Stated dose Form Note
Maitake not stated extract
Lion's mane not stated extract
Chaga not stated extract
Reishi not stated extract
Shiitake not stated extract
King oyster mushroom not stated extract
Total 6 mushrooms 2,000 mg extracts ratio not stated
Ashwagandha not stated
Ginseng not stated
Caffeine 60 mg from Arabica coffee

Source: “SparkUp™ - Gombás kávé” product page on sparkup.hu, recorded on 6 October 2026. The brand says it uses standardised extracts; it does not publish an extraction ratio, the part of the mushroom used, the polysaccharide content or a nutrition table.

Extract or equivalent

Two numbers for the same mushroom: how to read them.

On a mushroom coffee label, the same ingredient can appear with two very different weights. Both are correct; they simply do not measure the same thing. SparkUp shows a total weight of extracts; Brainstoorm shows dried-plant equivalents. To compare fairly, we give both figures on the Brainstoorm side.

The extract is what is in the cup

An extract is a concentrate. With a 10:1 ratio, it took 10 g of dried mushroom to obtain 1 g of powder.

The equivalent is the starting weight

“1,000 mg dry equivalent” with a 10:1 ratio means 100 mg of extract in the cup.

The part of the mushroom matters

The fruiting body is the mushroom itself; the mycelium is its network of filaments. Both are used, and a clear label says which.

The rule for comparing

Always the same column on both sides: extract against extract, equivalent against equivalent. That is what the following table does.

Dosages compared

Brainstoorm and SparkUp, line by line.

For Brainstoorm, the table gives the actual weight of extract and then, in brackets, the dried-plant equivalent. For SparkUp, what the brand states. One 6 g serving on each side.

Per cup Brainstoorm coffee SparkUp
Caffeine 20 mg, microencapsulated 60 mg, from Arabica coffee
Total mushrooms 370 mg of extract (3,000 mg), 3 species 2,000 mg of extracts, 6 species
Lion's mane 100 mg (1,000 mg) present, dose not stated
Cordyceps 250 mg (1,000 mg) absent
Chaga 20 mg (1,000 mg) present, dose not stated
Maitake, reishi, shiitake, king oyster absent present, doses not stated
Maca 375 mg (3,000 mg) absent
Ashwagandha 40 mg of extract present, dose not stated
Ginseng absent present, dose not stated
Vitamin B5 6 mg, 100% of the reference intake absent
Base roasted chicory 3,500 mg, acacia 889 mg Arabica coffee, coconut milk, MCT oil
Part of the mushroom fruiting body not specified

Sources: Brainstoorm technical data sheets from Laboratoire FGnutra (editions of 28 January 2026 and 8 July 2025); “SparkUp™ - Gombás kávé” product page on sparkup.hu, recorded on 6 October 2026.

Each recipe has its own logic. SparkUp bets on abundance: six mushrooms, 2,000 mg of extracts, more than five times the weight in Brainstoorm, in an Arabica coffee with coconut milk. Brainstoorm bets on precision: three mushrooms from the fruiting body, maca, ashwagandha, and for each one a written dose that you can check. Its vitamin B5, at 100% of the reference intake, contributes to the reduction of tiredness and fatigue and to normal mental performance.

See Brainstoorm's full composition →

Caffeine

60 mg on one side, 20 mg on the other.

SparkUp contains 60 mg of caffeine per serving, supplied by its Arabica coffee. That is slightly less than an espresso, which has around 80 mg according to the European Food Safety Authority: a lighter coffee, but a coffee all the same.

Brainstoorm goes down to 20 mg per cup, three times less. This caffeine is microencapsulated (NewCaff®), meaning it is coated so that it is released gradually. The coffee taste comes from roasted chicory, which contains none.

One cup a day

SparkUp: 60 mg. Brainstoorm: 20 mg. The EFSA benchmark for an adult is 400 mg a day, from all sources combined.

With your usual coffees

Two espressos plus one SparkUp: around 220 mg. The same two espressos plus one Brainstoorm: around 180 mg.

In the afternoon

At 20 mg, a cup of Brainstoorm after lunch weighs four times less on your evening than an espresso.

If caffeine is what matters to you, our article how many cups of coffee a day does the maths cup by cup, and coffee and anxiety sets out the signs of having too much.

Switch to 20 mg of caffeine →

Price, shipping, guarantee

The price per cup, and what the guarantee covers.

SparkUp lists its prices in forints; we give them converted at the European Central Bank rate of 6 October 2026. Brainstoorm prices were recorded on the France store. Both pouches contain 30 servings.

Prices recorded Brainstoorm SparkUp
1 pouch €42.71, i.e. €1.42 per cup 8,990 Ft (€24.63), i.e. €0.82 per cup
Subscription, 1 pouch €29.90 per month, i.e. €1.00 per cup 7,641.50 Ft (€20.94), i.e. €0.70 per cup
Best listed price €69.90 for 3 months on subscription, i.e. €0.78 per cup 37,450 Ft (€102.62) for 5 pouches, i.e. €0.68 per cup
Shipping free from €59 in France free over 20,000 Ft (€54.80) in Hungary
Money-back guarantee 60 days, even once the pouch is open 60 days stated on the product page, for an unopened product

Prices recorded on 6 October 2026 on mushngo.com (France store) and sparkup.hu (Hungary store, €1 = 364.95 Ft). SparkUp's refund page mentions a period of 14 days, the product page 60 days; in both cases for an unused product, in its original packaging.

On price, SparkUp has the edge, especially as a one-off purchase. The difference lies in the right to try: its guarantee covers a pouch that has stayed sealed. With Brainstoorm, you open the pouch, you drink it for weeks, and if the taste does not win you over, you can be refunded for 60 days.

Brainstoorm from €0.78 per cup →

Which one to choose

The most mushrooms, or a recipe where you know every dose?

If you want a real Arabica coffee packed with mushrooms, SparkUp is a generous recipe and you will not go wrong. If you would rather know exactly what you are drinking, with three times less caffeine and without the racing heart at 10 am or the slump at 3 pm, you are the person we created Brainstoorm for.

  • 20 mg of caffeine per cup, released gradually: three times less than SparkUp.
  • Three mushrooms from the fruiting body, 1,000 mg of equivalent each, including 250 mg of cordyceps extract.
  • Every dose in writing: 3,000 mg of maca equivalent, 40 mg of ashwagandha extract, and the weight of extract for each mushroom.
  • 6 mg of vitamin B5 in a single cup, i.e. 100% of the reference intake: it contributes to the reduction of tiredness and fatigue.
  • No mushroom taste: roasted chicory brings the roundness and bitterness of a coffee.
  • 60-day money-back guarantee: you taste, you decide.

More than 50,000 people have already replaced one of their cups with Brainstoorm, and rate it 4.8 out of 5.

Try Brainstoorm for 60 days →

Before starting either one

  • Both products contain caffeine and are not recommended for children or for pregnant and breastfeeding women.
  • Brainstoorm is not recommended if you have a thyroid, liver or heart condition: ask your doctor for advice.
  • A food supplement is not a substitute for a varied diet. Do not exceed the stated daily dose.

Your questions

All about SparkUp.

What is in SparkUp?

Arabica coffee, coconut milk powder, MCT oil, ashwagandha, ginseng and extracts of six mushrooms: maitake, lion's mane, chaga, reishi, shiitake and king oyster mushroom. The brand states 2,000 mg of mushroom extracts per 6 g serving, without detailing the dose of each.

How much caffeine is in SparkUp?

60 mg per serving, according to the brand, supplied by the Arabica coffee. An espresso contains around 80 mg, a cup of Brainstoorm 20 mg.

Is SparkUp dangerous?

Nothing in the information published by the brand points to any particular risk. Its allergens page advises against it for children, for pregnant and breastfeeding women, and for people allergic to coconut. If you are on medical treatment, ask your doctor for advice.

How much lion's mane is in SparkUp?

The brand does not say. It states a total of 2,000 mg for its six mushroom extracts, with no breakdown. Brainstoorm contains 100 mg of lion's mane extract, i.e. 1,000 mg of dried mushroom equivalent.

How much does SparkUp cost?

8,990 Ft for the pouch of 30 servings, i.e. around €24.63, price recorded on 6 October 2026. On subscription, the pouch comes down to 7,641.50 Ft, and the bundle of five pouches comes to 37,450 Ft.

Can you get a refund on SparkUp?

The product page states a 60-day guarantee for an unopened product, in its original packaging, with return costs payable by the customer; the refund page mentions 14 days. Mush n Go refunds Brainstoorm for 60 days, even once the pouch is open.

What is the difference between SparkUp and Brainstoorm?

SparkUp contains six mushrooms for 2,000 mg of extracts in total, Arabica coffee and 60 mg of caffeine. Brainstoorm contains three mushrooms with their dose in writing, maca, ashwagandha and 20 mg of caffeine, on a chicory base.

Where is SparkUp made?

In Hungary, according to the brand, which ships from its Hungarian warehouse in 1 to 3 working days. Brainstoorm is made in France, near Toulouse.

Sources

  1. SparkUp. Product page “SparkUp™ - Gombás kávé”, page on allergens and contraindications, terms and conditions, shipping and refund policies, sparkup.hu. Accessed on 6 October 2026.
  2. European Central Bank. Euro reference rate of 6 October 2026 (Hungarian forint).
  3. Laboratoire FGnutra. Product technical data sheet “Brainstoorm Café 180 g”, edition of 28 January 2026.
  4. Laboratoire FGnutra. Product technical data sheet “Café Brainstoorm V5” (chocolate hazelnut flavour), edition of 8 July 2025.
  5. EFSA Panel on Dietetic Products, Nutrition and Allergies (2015). Scientific Opinion on the safety of caffeine. EFSA Journal, 13(5):4102.
  6. Commission Regulation (EU) No 432/2012 establishing a list of permitted health claims made on foods (vitamin B5).

SparkUp is a trademark of its owner. The information about this product is what the brand publishes; it may have changed since it was recorded. Spotted a mistake? Write to us and we will correct it.

Further reading

Before you choose, see how to read a label and what caffeine changes in your day.

Discover our mushroom and adaptogenic plant supplements

Our vegan formulas, made in Toulouse by a French manufacturer.

FocusEnergyAnti-StressSleepRecoveryImmunity

See all our supplements