Spacegoods Rainbow Dust review: ingredients and dosages compared
By the Mush n Go editorial team - 10 October 2026
By the Mush n Go editorial teamPublished on 10 October 202610 min read
Spacegoods review
Rainbow Dust, from the British brand Spacegoods, is one of the best-known mushroom coffees in the UK: lion's mane, cordyceps, chaga, ashwagandha, maca, and 120 mg of caffeine per cup. On paper, it is the closest recipe to Brainstoorm that we have compared: the same three mushrooms, the same two plants, the same vitamin B5. The big difference is the caffeine: Brainstoorm contains 20 mg, six times less. Here are the two labels, line by line.
Who is writing: Mush n Go makes Brainstoorm, a direct competitor of Spacegoods. This page compares what each brand states on its website and, for Brainstoorm, the technical data sheet from our contract manufacturer. Figures recorded on 6 October 2026. We have no connection with Spacegoods.
Brainstoorm coffee flavour
Lion's mane, cordyceps and chaga from the fruiting body, maca, ashwagandha and roasted chicory. The taste of coffee, without the jitters.
Try Brainstoorm →Brainstoorm choc-hazelnut
The same mushroom base, with cocoa and rhodiola. 60 days to change your mind, with a money-back guarantee.
See the choc version →Our verdict in brief
Almost the same recipe, six times less caffeine.
Rainbow Dust and Brainstoorm are cousins: three identical mushrooms, ashwagandha, maca, 6 mg of vitamin B5, a chicory base. What really sets them apart is what each brand wanted to do with the caffeine. Spacegoods chose to put in more than there is in an espresso. We chose to put in four times less.
- Brainstoorm is for you if you are looking to cut down on caffeine (20 mg), if you want to know the exact weight of extract of each mushroom, and if you prefer to buy without a compulsory subscription.
- Rainbow Dust is for you if you want to keep a real kick (120 mg of caffeine), a well-dosed KSM-66® ashwagandha, and a wide choice of flavours, including a decaf.
- On price, it all depends on the plan: as a one-off purchase, Brainstoorm is cheaper (€1.42 per cup versus around €1.92); on subscription, the two brands meet at around €0.76 to €0.78.
What is Spacegoods
A London brand, and its rainbow powder.
Spacegoods is a British brand that sells online, in the UK and in Europe. Its flagship product, Rainbow Dust, is a powder you mix into a drink, available in around ten flavours, including Coffee, Chocolate and a decaffeinated version. The brand states that it manufactures in England. Its starter kit, with a frother and a cup, is sold on subscription only. Here we compare the Coffee flavour.
The ingredients in detail
What is in one serving of Rainbow Dust Coffee.
The Spacegoods label gives one figure per active ingredient and, in the ingredients list, the ratio of each extract. It specifies that the mushrooms come from the fruiting body. Just one point remains open: it does not say whether the 1,000 mg stated per mushroom is a weight of extract or a dried-mushroom equivalent.
| Ingredient | Stated dose | Form | Detail |
|---|---|---|---|
| Lion's mane | 1,000 mg | 12:1 extract | fruiting body |
| Cordyceps | 1,000 mg | 20:1 extract | fruiting body |
| Chaga | 1,000 mg | 12:1 extract | fruiting body |
| Ashwagandha KSM-66® | 300 mg | 12:1 root extract | |
| Maca | 250 mg | 10:1 root extract | |
| Caffeine | 120 mg | coffee and added caffeine | |
| Vitamin B5 | 6 mg | 100% of the reference intake | |
| Chicory fibre and coffee | not stated | first ingredients on the list |
Source: Coffee flavour label published on spacegoods.com, recorded on 6 October 2026. Values for an 8 g serving, which also provides 3.8 g of fibre. The brand does not publish a polysaccharide content.
Extract or equivalent
Two numbers for the same mushroom: how to read them.
On a mushroom coffee label, the same ingredient can appear with two very different weights. Both are correct; they simply do not measure the same thing. That is exactly the question raised by the Rainbow Dust label: its 1,000 mg per mushroom can be read either way. On the Brainstoorm side, we give both figures.
The extract is what is in the cup
An extract is a concentrate. With a 10:1 ratio, it took 10 g of dried mushroom to obtain 1 g of powder.
The equivalent is the starting weight
“1,000 mg dry equivalent” with a 10:1 ratio means 100 mg of extract in the cup.
The part of the mushroom matters
The fruiting body is the mushroom itself; the mycelium is its network of filaments. Both are used, and a clear label says which.
The rule for comparing
Always the same column on both sides: extract against extract, equivalent against equivalent. That is what the following table does.
Dosages compared
Brainstoorm and Spacegoods, line by line.
For Brainstoorm, the table gives the actual weight of extract and then, in brackets, the dried-plant equivalent. For Rainbow Dust, the stated dose and the ratio, as the label presents them. Brainstoorm coffee flavour: 6 g serving. Rainbow Dust Coffee: 8 g serving.
| Per cup | Brainstoorm coffee | Rainbow Dust Coffee |
|---|---|---|
| Caffeine | 20 mg, microencapsulated | 120 mg |
| Lion's mane | 100 mg (1,000 mg) | 1,000 mg stated, 12:1 extract |
| Cordyceps | 250 mg (1,000 mg) | 1,000 mg stated, 20:1 extract |
| Chaga | 20 mg (1,000 mg) | 1,000 mg stated, 12:1 extract |
| Maca | 375 mg of 8:1 extract (3,000 mg) | 250 mg of 10:1 extract |
| Ashwagandha | 40 mg of extract | 300 mg of KSM-66® extract |
| Vitamin B5 | 6 mg, 100% of the reference intake | 6 mg, 100% of the reference intake |
| Base | roasted chicory 3,500 mg, acacia 889 mg | chicory fibre and coffee, amounts not stated |
| Part of the mushroom | fruiting body | fruiting body |
| Sweetener | xylitol | none in the Coffee flavour |
| Vegan | yes | yes |
Sources: Brainstoorm technical data sheets from Laboratoire FGnutra (editions of 28 January 2026 and 8 July 2025); Coffee flavour label on spacegoods.com, recorded on 6 October 2026.
The two recipes are built on the same idea, and that is rather a good sign for both of them. Rainbow Dust has the edge on ashwagandha, with a higher dose and the KSM-66® brand. Brainstoorm has the edge on maca, and on clarity: each mushroom is given both as a weight of extract and as an equivalent. Vitamin B5, present at the same dose on both sides, contributes to the reduction of tiredness and fatigue and to normal mental performance. That leaves the caffeine, which changes everything.
Caffeine
120 mg on one side, 20 mg on the other.
With 120 mg of caffeine per serving, Rainbow Dust Coffee contains one and a half times the caffeine of an espresso, which has around 80 mg according to the European Food Safety Authority. It is a deliberate choice: the brand presents it as a coffee that wakes you up. It allows up to three servings a day, i.e. 360 mg, very close to the 400 mg benchmark that EFSA uses for an adult. It also offers a decaffeinated flavour.
Brainstoorm takes the opposite route. Each cup contains 20 mg of NewCaff® microencapsulated caffeine, coated so that it is released gradually. The coffee taste comes from roasted chicory, which contains none.
One cup a day
Rainbow Dust Coffee: 120 mg. Brainstoorm: 20 mg. The EFSA benchmark for an adult is 400 mg a day, from all sources combined.
With your usual coffees
Two espressos plus one Rainbow Dust Coffee: around 280 mg. The same two espressos plus one Brainstoorm: around 180 mg.
In the afternoon
At 20 mg, a cup of Brainstoorm after lunch weighs four times less on your evening than an espresso.
If caffeine is what matters to you, our article how many cups of coffee a day does the maths cup by cup, and coffee and anxiety sets out the signs of having too much.
Price, shipping, guarantee
The price per cup, with or without a subscription.
Spacegoods lists its prices in pounds sterling; we give them converted at the European Central Bank rate of 6 October 2026. Brainstoorm prices were recorded on the France store. Both pouches contain 30 servings.
| Prices recorded | Brainstoorm | Rainbow Dust Coffee |
|---|---|---|
| 1 pouch, no subscription | €42.71, i.e. €1.42 per cup | £49 (€57.73), i.e. €1.92 per cup |
| 1 pouch, on subscription | €29.90 per month, i.e. €1.00 per cup | £29 (€34.17) for the starter kit, i.e. €1.14 per cup, first order |
| Best listed price | €69.90 for 3 months on subscription, i.e. €0.78 per cup | £58 (€68.33) for 3 pouches on subscription, i.e. €0.76 per cup, first order |
| Shipping | free from €59 in France | free with a subscription |
| Money-back guarantee | 60 days, even once the pouch is open | 60 days |
Prices recorded on 6 October 2026 on mushngo.com (France store) and spacegoods.com (UK store, €1 = £0.8488). The Spacegoods starter kit includes a frother, a cup and a spoon, and is sold on subscription only; the price of renewals is not shown on the page. The Spacegoods returns policy does not say what happens with an opened pouch.
Spacegoods has an attractive welcome offer: a complete kit at a low price, provided you subscribe. Brainstoorm lets you choose between a single pouch, with no commitment, and a subscription. Either way, you have 60 days to change your mind about Brainstoorm, even once the pouch is open.
Which one to choose
Just one question: how much caffeine do you want?
If you want a mushroom coffee that really wakes you up, Rainbow Dust is a serious, well-built recipe, and you will not go wrong. If you like this recipe but not the racing heart at 10 am or the slump at 3 pm, you are the person we created Brainstoorm for: the same mushrooms, the same plants, six times less caffeine.
- 20 mg of caffeine per cup, released gradually: six times less than Rainbow Dust Coffee.
- Three mushrooms from the fruiting body, 1,000 mg of equivalent each, including 250 mg of cordyceps extract.
- A generous dose of maca: 375 mg of extract, i.e. 3,000 mg of root equivalent, with ashwagandha.
- 6 mg of vitamin B5 in a single cup, i.e. 100% of the reference intake: it contributes to the reduction of tiredness and fatigue.
- No mushroom taste: roasted chicory brings the roundness and bitterness of a coffee.
- 60-day money-back guarantee: you taste, you decide.
More than 50,000 people have already replaced one of their cups with Brainstoorm, and rate it 4.8 out of 5.
Before starting either one
- Both products contain caffeine and are not recommended for children or for pregnant and breastfeeding women.
- Brainstoorm is not recommended if you have a thyroid, liver or heart condition: ask your doctor for advice.
- A food supplement is not a substitute for a varied diet. Do not exceed the stated daily dose.
Your questions
All about Spacegoods.
What is in Spacegoods Rainbow Dust?
An 8 g serving of the Coffee flavour states 1,000 mg of lion's mane, 1,000 mg of cordyceps and 1,000 mg of chaga, 300 mg of KSM-66® ashwagandha, 250 mg of maca, 120 mg of caffeine and 6 mg of vitamin B5, on a base of chicory fibre and coffee.
How much caffeine is in Rainbow Dust?
120 mg per serving for the Coffee flavour and 80 mg for the Chocolate flavour, according to the labels of the brand, which also offers a decaffeinated flavour. An espresso contains around 80 mg, a cup of Brainstoorm 20 mg.
Is Spacegoods safe?
Nothing in the information published by the brand points to any particular risk. With 120 mg of caffeine per serving, the precautions are those of a strong coffee: keep an eye on the total with your other coffees, especially if you have several servings. If you are on medical treatment, ask your doctor for advice.
Is the 1,000 mg of mushrooms in Rainbow Dust extract?
The label states 1,000 mg per mushroom and, in the ingredients list, 12:1 and 20:1 extracts. It does not specify whether the 1,000 mg is a weight of extract or a dried-mushroom equivalent. Brainstoorm gives both: for example 250 mg of cordyceps extract, i.e. 1,000 mg of equivalent.
How much does Rainbow Dust cost?
£49 for the 30-serving pouch as a one-off purchase, i.e. around €57.73, price recorded on 6 October 2026. The starter kit on subscription is £29, and three pouches on subscription £58, for a first order.
Can you buy Rainbow Dust without a subscription?
Yes, as a one-off purchase, at £49 per pouch. The discounted starter kit, on the other hand, is reserved for subscribers. Brainstoorm can be bought as a one-off or on subscription, whichever you prefer.
What is the difference between Spacegoods and Brainstoorm?
Both recipes bring together lion's mane, cordyceps, chaga, ashwagandha, maca and vitamin B5. Rainbow Dust Coffee contains 120 mg of caffeine and more ashwagandha; Brainstoorm contains 20 mg of caffeine and more maca.
Where is Rainbow Dust made?
In England, according to the brand, which ships to the European Union from the Netherlands. Brainstoorm is made in France, near Toulouse.
Sources
- Spacegoods. “Rainbow Dust Starter Kit” and “Rainbow Dust” product pages, Coffee flavour label, terms of sale and refund policy, spacegoods.com. Accessed on 6 October 2026.
- Trustpilot. “Spacegoods” profile, 4.5 out of 5 from 9,786 reviews. Accessed on 6 October 2026.
- European Central Bank. Euro reference rate of 6 October 2026 (pound sterling).
- Laboratoire FGnutra. Product technical data sheet “Brainstoorm Café 180 g”, edition of 28 January 2026.
- Laboratoire FGnutra. Product technical data sheet “Café Brainstoorm V5” (chocolate hazelnut flavour), edition of 8 July 2025.
- EFSA Panel on Dietetic Products, Nutrition and Allergies (2015). Scientific Opinion on the safety of caffeine. EFSA Journal, 13(5):4102.
- Commission Regulation (EU) No 432/2012 establishing a list of permitted health claims made on foods (vitamin B5).
Spacegoods, Rainbow Dust and KSM-66 are trademarks of their respective owners. The information about this product is what the brand publishes; it may have changed since it was recorded. Spotted a mistake? Write to us and we will correct it.
Further reading
Before you choose, see how to read a label and what caffeine changes in your day.
Discover our mushroom and adaptogenic plant supplements
Our vegan formulas, made in Toulouse by a French manufacturer.















