Wake coffee review: ingredients and dosages compared

Wake coffee review: ingredients and dosages compared

By the Mush n Go editorial team - 10 October 2026

By the Mush n Go editorial teamPublished on 10 October 202610 min read

Wake review

Wake is a French “super coffee” with an original formula: lion's mane, 3 g of collagen, magnesium, L-theanine and 40 mg of caffeine, with a recipe that changes every season. It is a proposition all of its own, designed as a beauty and focus ritual. Brainstoorm makes a simpler choice: the same recipe all year round, three mushrooms, two plants, 20 mg of caffeine, and nothing of animal origin. Here are the two labels, line by line.

40 mgof caffeine per dose of Wake, according to its label
20 mgof caffeine per cup of Brainstoorm, released gradually
1mushroom in Wake's autumn formula, 3 in Brainstoorm all year round
60 daysmoney-back guarantee advertised by both brands

Who is writing: Mush n Go makes Brainstoorm, a direct competitor of Wake. This page compares what each brand states on its website and, for Brainstoorm, the technical data sheet from our contract manufacturer. Figures recorded on 6 October 2026. We have no connection with Wake or with Still Awake, the company that sells it.

20 mg of caffeine · vegan

Brainstoorm coffee flavour

Lion's mane, cordyceps and chaga from the fruiting body, maca, ashwagandha and roasted chicory. The taste of coffee, without the jitters.

Try Brainstoorm →
The cocoa version

Brainstoorm choc-hazelnut

The same mushroom base, with cocoa and rhodiola. 60 days to change your mind, with a money-back guarantee.

See the choc version →

Our verdict in brief

A recipe that changes with the seasons, a recipe that stays the same.

Wake and Brainstoorm are two French brands born of the same wish: to keep the pleasure of coffee while lightening the caffeine. They do not put the same thing in the cup. Wake builds its formula around collagen and renews it four times a year. Brainstoorm builds its own around mushrooms and plants, and leaves it untouched.

  • Brainstoorm is for you if you want three mushrooms in every cup, all year round, a vegan recipe, the lower caffeine of the two (20 mg), and the freedom to buy a single pouch.
  • Wake is for you if collagen interests you as much as mushrooms, if you like the idea of a formula that rotates with the seasons, and if you enjoy the taste of a real Arabica.
  • On price, Brainstoorm is cheaper once the first order is behind you: €1.00 per cup on a monthly subscription, compared with €1.33 at Wake from the second month.

Discover Brainstoorm, 20 mg of caffeine →

What is Wake

An enriched coffee, with a formula that follows the seasons.

Wake is sold by the Paris-based company Still Awake and delivered in mainland France. Its “super coffee” comes in two flavours, Café arabica and Chocolat. What sets it apart: four formulas a year. The spring and winter formulas combine cordyceps and chaga; the summer and autumn formulas are built on lion's mane. Here we compare the formula on sale as of 6 October 2026, known as the autumn Focus formula, in the Arabica flavour.

Format
240 g pouch, 30 doses of 8 g
Mushroom
1 in the autumn formula: lion's mane
Other actives
Collagen 3,000 mg, magnesium 224 mg, L-theanine 35 mg, vitamins B5 and B6
Base
Arabica coffee from Brazil and French chicory
Caffeine
40 mg per dose
Flavours
Café arabica, Chocolat
Shipping
Mainland France only
Reviews
4.8 out of 5 on Trustpilot, 577 reviews as of 6 October 2026

The ingredients in detail

What is in a dose of Wake this autumn.

Wake publishes a clear table, with the extract weight of its mushroom and its non-concentrated equivalent side by side. The brand states that it uses the fruiting body, with an 18:1 ratio. Here are the figures for an 8 g dose of the autumn formula.

Ingredient Per dose Detail Equivalent
Lion's mane 139 mg 18:1 extract, fruiting body 2,500 mg
Collagen 3,000 mg origin not stated
Magnesium 224 mg form not stated
L-theanine 35 mg
Vitamin B5 3.6 mg
Vitamin B6 0.8 mg
Caffeine 40 mg from Arabica coffee
Arabica coffee and chicory not stated base of the recipe

Source: actives table for the “Focus — Automne” formula, Arabica flavour, published on getyourwake.com, recorded on 6 October 2026. The other seasons have different compositions. The brand does not publish a polysaccharide content.

Extract or equivalent

Two numbers for the same mushroom: how to read them.

On a mushroom coffee label, the same ingredient can appear with two very different weights. Both are correct; they simply do not measure the same thing. Wake gives both figures for its lion's mane, and we do the same for Brainstoorm.

The extract is what is in the cup

An extract is a concentrate. With a 10:1 ratio, it took 10 g of dried mushroom to obtain 1 g of powder.

The equivalent is the starting weight

“1,000 mg dry equivalent” with a 10:1 ratio means 100 mg of extract in the cup.

The part of the mushroom matters

The fruiting body is the mushroom itself; the mycelium is its network of filaments. Both are used, and a clear label says which.

The rule for comparing

Always the same column on both sides: extract against extract, equivalent against equivalent. That is what the following table does.

Dosages compared

Brainstoorm and Wake, line by line.

For each mushroom, the table gives the actual weight of extract and then, in brackets, the dried-mushroom equivalent. Brainstoorm coffee flavour: 6 g serving. Wake, autumn formula: 8 g dose.

Per cup Brainstoorm coffee Wake, autumn formula
Caffeine 20 mg, microencapsulated 40 mg, from Arabica coffee
Lion's mane 100 mg (1,000 mg) 139 mg (2,500 mg)
Cordyceps 250 mg (1,000 mg) absent this autumn
Chaga 20 mg (1,000 mg) absent this autumn
Maca 375 mg (3,000 mg) absent
Ashwagandha 40 mg of extract absent
Collagen none 3,000 mg
Magnesium and L-theanine absent 224 mg and 35 mg
Vitamin B5 6 mg, 100% of the reference intake 3.6 mg
Base roasted chicory 3,500 mg, acacia 889 mg Arabica coffee and chicory, amounts not stated
Vegan yes no, because of the collagen
Recipe the same all year round four formulas a year

Sources: Brainstoorm technical data sheets from Laboratoire FGnutra (editions of 28 January 2026 and 8 July 2025); actives table for the autumn formula on getyourwake.com, recorded on 6 October 2026.

Each recipe has its own logic. Wake goes beyond mushrooms: collagen, magnesium, L-theanine, and a slightly higher dose of lion's mane this autumn. Brainstoorm stays focused on its subject: three mushrooms from the fruiting body, maca and ashwagandha, in every pouch, whatever the season. Its vitamin B5, at 100% of the reference intake, contributes to the reduction of tiredness and fatigue and to normal mental performance.

See Brainstoorm's full composition →

Caffeine

40 mg on one side, 20 mg on the other.

Wake and Brainstoorm share the same intention: lightening the caffeine. With 40 mg per dose, Wake contains half as much as an espresso, which has around 80 mg according to the European Food Safety Authority. Its caffeine comes from its Arabica coffee, and the brand pairs it with L-theanine.

Brainstoorm goes one step lower still: 20 mg per cup, half as much as Wake. This caffeine is microencapsulated (NewCaff®), meaning it is coated so that it is released gradually. The coffee taste comes from roasted chicory, which contains none.

One cup a day

Wake: 40 mg. Brainstoorm: 20 mg. The EFSA benchmark for an adult is 400 mg a day, from all sources combined.

With your usual coffees

Two espressos plus one Wake: around 200 mg. The same two espressos plus one Brainstoorm: around 180 mg.

In the afternoon

At 20 mg, a cup of Brainstoorm after lunch weighs four times less on your evening than an espresso.

If caffeine is what matters to you, our article how many cups of coffee a day does the maths cup by cup, and coffee and anxiety sets out the signs of having too much.

Switch to 20 mg of caffeine →

Price, shipping, guarantee

The price per cup, in the first month and the months after.

Both brands sell pouches of 30 servings and put their subscription forward. The difference appears when you look at the price after the first order.

In France Brainstoorm Wake, autumn formula
1 pouch, no subscription €42.71, i.e. €1.42 per cup €57.00, i.e. €1.90 per cup; out of stock on the day prices were recorded
Monthly subscription, 1st month €29.90, i.e. €1.00 per cup €29.90, i.e. €1.00 per cup
Monthly subscription, following months €29.90, i.e. €1.00 per cup €39.90, i.e. €1.33 per cup
3-month subscription €69.90, i.e. €0.78 per cup €74.70 for the first order, i.e. €0.83 per cup
Shipping free from €59 €3.90 to a pick-up point; free with the 3-month subscription
Money-back guarantee 60 days, even once the pouch is open 60 days advertised on the sales page

Prices recorded on 6 October 2026 on mushngo.com and getyourwake.com, excluding temporary promotions. Wake presents its subscription as commitment-free. The detailed terms of its 60-day guarantee do not appear on its “Livraisons et retours” page.

In the first month, the two subscriptions cost the same. It is afterwards that the gap opens up: Brainstoorm stays at €29.90, Wake goes up to €39.90. And if you would rather buy a pouch without subscribing, Brainstoorm is €42.71, compared with €57.00 for Wake.

Brainstoorm from €0.78 per cup →

Which one to choose

Collagen and the seasons, or three mushrooms all year round?

If you are looking for a drink that brings together coffee, collagen and magnesium, Wake is an original, well-presented proposition, and you will not go wrong. If what you want above all is mushrooms and plants, the same recipe every morning, without the racing heart at 10 am or the slump at 3 pm, you are the person we created Brainstoorm for.

  • 20 mg of caffeine per cup, released gradually: half as much as Wake.
  • Three mushrooms from the fruiting body, 1,000 mg of equivalent each, including 250 mg of cordyceps extract.
  • Two extra plants: 3,000 mg of maca equivalent, plus ashwagandha, neither of which is in the Wake recipe.
  • Vegan recipe, the same all year round: no ingredient of animal origin, no formula to relearn.
  • 6 mg of vitamin B5 in a single cup, i.e. 100% of the reference intake: it contributes to the reduction of tiredness and fatigue.
  • No mushroom taste: roasted chicory brings the roundness and bitterness of a coffee.
  • 60-day money-back guarantee: you taste, you decide.

More than 50,000 people have already replaced one of their cups with Brainstoorm, and rate it 4.8 out of 5.

Try Brainstoorm for 60 days →

Before starting either one

  • Both products contain caffeine and are not recommended for children or for pregnant and breastfeeding women.
  • Brainstoorm is not recommended if you have a thyroid, liver or heart condition: ask your doctor for advice.
  • A food supplement is not a substitute for a varied diet. Do not exceed the stated daily dose.

Your questions

All about Wake.

What is in Wake coffee?

The autumn formula, on sale as of 6 October 2026, contains per 8 g dose: 139 mg of lion's mane extract, 3,000 mg of collagen, 224 mg of magnesium, 35 mg of L-theanine, vitamins B5 and B6 and 40 mg of caffeine, on a base of Arabica coffee and chicory. The composition changes every season.

How much caffeine is in Wake coffee?

40 mg per dose for the Arabica flavour, according to its label. An espresso contains around 80 mg, a cup of Brainstoorm 20 mg.

Is Wake coffee safe?

Nothing in the information published by the brand points to any particular risk. Like any supplement containing caffeine, it should be consumed with the usual precautions. If you are on medical treatment, pregnant or breastfeeding, ask your doctor for advice.

Is Wake coffee vegan?

No: the recipe contains 3,000 mg of collagen per dose, an ingredient of animal origin whose source the brand does not specify. Brainstoorm is vegan.

Why does the Wake formula change?

It is the brand's principle: four formulas a year, one per season, with a taste the brand says stays constant. Spring and winter combine cordyceps and chaga, summer and autumn are built on lion's mane. The Brainstoorm recipe is the same all year round.

How much does Wake coffee cost?

€57.00 for the pouch of 30 doses as a one-off purchase, and €29.90 for the first month on subscription, then €39.90 a month, prices recorded on 6 October 2026. The 3-month subscription comes to €74.70 for the first order.

What is the difference between Wake and Brainstoorm?

Wake combines one mushroom per season with collagen, magnesium and L-theanine, with 40 mg of caffeine. Brainstoorm brings together three mushrooms, maca and ashwagandha, with 20 mg of caffeine, in a vegan recipe that does not change.

Does Wake deliver outside France?

No, the brand states that it only delivers to mainland France. Mush n Go delivers Brainstoorm in France and across the rest of Europe.

Sources

  1. Wake. Sales page, actives table for the “Focus — Automne” formula, product page, legal notice and “Livraisons et retours” page, getyourwake.com. Accessed on 6 October 2026.
  2. Trustpilot. “Get Your Wake” profile, 4.8 out of 5 from 577 reviews. Accessed on 6 October 2026.
  3. Laboratoire FGnutra. Product technical data sheet “Brainstoorm Café 180 g”, edition of 28 January 2026.
  4. Laboratoire FGnutra. Product technical data sheet “Café Brainstoorm V5” (chocolate hazelnut flavour), edition of 8 July 2025.
  5. EFSA Panel on Dietetic Products, Nutrition and Allergies (2015). Scientific Opinion on the safety of caffeine. EFSA Journal, 13(5):4102.
  6. Commission Regulation (EU) No 432/2012 establishing a list of permitted health claims made on foods (vitamin B5).

Wake is a trademark of its owner. The information about this product is what the brand publishes; it may have changed since it was recorded. Spotted a mistake? Write to us and we will correct it.

Further reading

Before you choose, see how to read a label and what caffeine changes in your day.

Discover our mushroom and adaptogenic plant supplements

Our vegan formulas, made in Toulouse by a French manufacturer.

FocusEnergyAnti-StressSleepRecoveryImmunity

See all our supplements