Juicefast mushroom coffee review: ingredients and dosages compared
By the Mush n Go editorial team - 11 October 2026
By the Mush n Go editorial teamPublished on 11 October 202610 min read
Juicefast review
Juicefast, known in Croatia for its juice cleanses, also sells a mushroom coffee: Robusta coffee, 400 mg of lion's mane and reishi extracts, rhodiola, vitamin B5 and 65 mg of caffeine. The label is clear and the recipe is short. Brainstoorm goes further on two points: three mushrooms instead of two, with maca and ashwagandha, and caffeine brought down to 20 mg, more than three times less. Here are the two labels, line by line.
Who is writing: Mush n Go makes Brainstoorm, a direct competitor of Juicefast. This page compares what each brand states on its website and, for Brainstoorm, the technical data sheet from our contract manufacturer. Figures recorded on 6 October 2026. We have no connection with Juicefast.
Brainstoorm coffee flavour
Lion's mane, cordyceps and chaga from the fruiting body, maca, ashwagandha and roasted chicory. The taste of coffee, without the jitters.
Try Brainstoorm →Brainstoorm choc-hazelnut
The same mushroom base, with cocoa and rhodiola. 60 days to change your mind, with a money-back guarantee.
See the choc version →Our verdict in brief
An enriched Robusta coffee, or a cup with almost no caffeine.
Juicefast mushroom coffee and Brainstoorm are prepared in the same way: one spoonful in a cup of hot water. They do not set out to do the same thing. Juicefast starts from a Robusta coffee and adds two mushrooms and one plant to it. Brainstoorm replaces the coffee with roasted chicory and brings five actives together in the cup.
- Brainstoorm is for you if you want to cut your caffeine right down (20 mg), have lion's mane, cordyceps and chaga together, and be able to buy a single pouch to try it, with 60 days to change your mind.
- Juicefast is for you if you like the character of a Robusta, if reishi and rhodiola interest you, and if you are happy to order two pouches at once to get the best price.
- On price, Juicefast is cheaper per cup (€0.68), but is only sold in bundles of two or four pouches; Brainstoorm comes to €1.42 as a one-off purchase and €0.78 on a three-month subscription.
What is Juicefast
A juice cleanse brand, now moving into mushrooms.
Juicefast is first and foremost a brand of detox juices and ready meals, run by the Slovenian company Juicefast d.o.o. and very well established in Croatia. Its mushroom coffee, “Kava s gljivama” (Croatian for “coffee with mushrooms”), sits in its supplements range, alongside a mushroom cocoa. It is taken once a day.
The ingredients in detail
What is in one serving of Juicefast.
Juicefast publishes a full table of actives, by weight of extract, and names the part of the mushroom used: the fruiting body, for the lion's mane and the reishi alike. Here are the figures for a 4.5 g serving.
| Ingredient | Per serving | Form | Note |
|---|---|---|---|
| Lion's mane | 200 mg | extract | fruiting body, ratio not stated |
| Reishi | 200 mg | extract | fruiting body, ratio not stated |
| Total 2 mushrooms | 400 mg | extracts | |
| Rhodiola | 50 mg | root extract | ratio not stated |
| Chicory inulin | 1,200 mg | fibre | |
| Vitamin B5 | 3 mg | 50% of the reference intake | |
| Caffeine | 65 mg | naturally present in the coffee | |
| Robusta coffee | not stated | powder | first ingredient on the list |
Source: “Kava s gljivama” product page and label published on juicefast.hr, recorded on 6 October 2026. The brand does not publish an extraction ratio or the polysaccharide content.
Extract or equivalent
Two numbers for the same mushroom: how to read them.
On a mushroom coffee label, the same ingredient can appear with two very different weights. Both are correct; they simply do not measure the same thing. Juicefast shows weights of extract; Brainstoorm shows dried-plant equivalents. To compare fairly, we give both figures on the Brainstoorm side.
The extract is what is in the cup
An extract is a concentrate. With a 10:1 ratio, it took 10 g of dried mushroom to obtain 1 g of powder.
The equivalent is the starting weight
“1,000 mg dry equivalent” with a 10:1 ratio means 100 mg of extract in the cup.
The part of the mushroom matters
The fruiting body is the mushroom itself; the mycelium is its network of filaments. Both are used, and a clear label says which.
The rule for comparing
Always the same column on both sides: extract against extract, equivalent against equivalent. That is what the following table does.
Dosages compared
Brainstoorm and Juicefast, line by line.
For Brainstoorm, the table gives the actual weight of extract and then, in brackets, the dried-plant equivalent. For Juicefast, the stated weight of extract. Brainstoorm coffee flavour: 6 g serving. Juicefast: 4.5 g serving.
| Per cup | Brainstoorm coffee | Juicefast Kava s gljivama |
|---|---|---|
| Caffeine | 20 mg, microencapsulated | 65 mg, from Robusta coffee |
| Lion's mane | 100 mg (1,000 mg) | 200 mg |
| Cordyceps | 250 mg (1,000 mg) | absent |
| Chaga | 20 mg (1,000 mg) | absent |
| Reishi | absent | 200 mg |
| Maca | 375 mg (3,000 mg) | absent |
| Ashwagandha | 40 mg of extract | absent |
| Rhodiola | in the choc version (25 mg) | 50 mg |
| Vitamin B5 | 6 mg, 100% of the reference intake | 3 mg, 50% of the reference intake |
| Base | roasted chicory 3,500 mg, acacia 889 mg | Robusta coffee, chicory inulin 1,200 mg |
| Part of the mushroom | fruiting body | fruiting body |
| Vegan | yes | yes |
Sources: Brainstoorm technical data sheets from Laboratoire FGnutra (editions of 28 January 2026 and 8 July 2025); “Kava s gljivama” product page on juicefast.hr, recorded on 6 October 2026.
Each recipe has its own logic. Juicefast keeps it simple and clean: two mushrooms at 200 mg each, a lion's mane dose twice that of Brainstoorm, and rhodiola. Brainstoorm widens the range: three mushrooms, maca, ashwagandha, and twice as much vitamin B5. At 100% of the reference intake, this vitamin contributes to the reduction of tiredness and fatigue and to normal mental performance.
Caffeine
65 mg on one side, 20 mg on the other.
Juicefast contains 65 mg of caffeine per serving, all of it from its Robusta coffee. An espresso has around 80 mg according to the European Food Safety Authority: so it is a slightly lighter coffee, to be taken once a day according to the brand.
Brainstoorm contains no coffee. Each cup provides 20 mg of NewCaff® microencapsulated caffeine, coated so that it is released gradually, and its taste comes from roasted chicory.
One cup a day
Juicefast: 65 mg. Brainstoorm: 20 mg. The EFSA benchmark for an adult is 400 mg a day, from all sources combined.
With your usual coffees
Two espressos plus one Juicefast: around 225 mg. The same two espressos plus one Brainstoorm: around 180 mg.
In the afternoon
At 20 mg, a cup of Brainstoorm after lunch weighs four times less on your evening than an espresso.
If caffeine is what matters to you, our article how many cups of coffee a day does the maths cup by cup, and coffee and anxiety sets out the signs of having too much.
Price, shipping, guarantee
The price per cup, and how much you have to order.
Juicefast sells in euros in Croatia, in bundles only. Brainstoorm prices were recorded on the France store. Both pouches contain 30 servings.
| Prices recorded | Brainstoorm | Juicefast Kava s gljivama |
|---|---|---|
| 1 pouch, no subscription | €42.71, i.e. €1.42 per cup | not offered as a single pouch |
| Monthly subscription | €29.90 per pouch, i.e. €1.00 per cup | not offered on the product page |
| Bundle of 2 pouches | not offered | €40.70, i.e. €0.68 per cup |
| Best listed price | €69.90 for 3 pouches on subscription, i.e. €0.78 per cup | €76.60 for 4 pouches, i.e. €0.64 per cup |
| Shipping | free from €59 in France | free over €60 |
| Money-back guarantee | 60 days, even once the pouch is open | 14 days stated; returns within 30 days for an unopened product |
Prices recorded on 6 October 2026 on mushngo.com (France store) and juicefast.hr (Croatia store), excluding promotional codes. Return conditions as per the brand's product page.
Per cup, Juicefast is the cheaper of the two. On the other hand, it asks you to commit to two months' worth of product from the outset, with no option to return it once opened. Brainstoorm takes the opposite route: a single pouch if you like, and 60 days to get your money back even after you have started it.
Which one to choose
Two mushrooms in a coffee, or five actives without the coffee?
If you are looking for a simple, inexpensive mushroom coffee, with reishi, Juicefast's is a clear recipe and you will not go wrong. If you want less caffeine, more actives, and the right to taste before you commit, without the racing heart at 10 am or the slump at 3 pm, you are the person we created Brainstoorm for.
- 20 mg of caffeine per cup, released gradually: more than three times less than Juicefast.
- Three mushrooms from the fruiting body, 1,000 mg of equivalent each, including 250 mg of cordyceps extract.
- Two extra plants: 3,000 mg of maca equivalent, plus ashwagandha, neither of which is in the Juicefast recipe.
- 6 mg of vitamin B5 in a single cup, i.e. 100% of the reference intake: it contributes to the reduction of tiredness and fatigue.
- No mushroom taste: roasted chicory brings the roundness and bitterness of a coffee.
- 60-day money-back guarantee: you taste, you decide.
More than 50,000 people have already replaced one of their cups with Brainstoorm, and rate it 4.8 out of 5.
Before starting either one
- Both products contain caffeine and are not recommended for children or for pregnant and breastfeeding women.
- Brainstoorm is not recommended if you have a thyroid, liver or heart condition: ask your doctor for advice.
- A food supplement is not a substitute for a varied diet. Do not exceed the stated daily dose.
Your questions
All about Juicefast.
What is in Juicefast mushroom coffee?
A 4.5 g serving contains Robusta coffee, 1,200 mg of chicory inulin, 200 mg of lion's mane extract, 200 mg of reishi extract, 50 mg of rhodiola extract, 3 mg of vitamin B5 and 65 mg of caffeine.
How much caffeine is in Juicefast coffee?
65 mg per serving, according to its label, naturally present in the Robusta coffee. An espresso contains around 80 mg, a cup of Brainstoorm 20 mg.
Is Juicefast mushroom coffee safe?
Nothing in the information published by the brand points to any particular risk. It advises against it for pregnant and breastfeeding women. If you are on medical treatment, ask your doctor for advice.
Can you buy a single pouch of Juicefast?
No, not on the day we checked: the product page offered only two bundles, two pouches for €40.70 or four pouches for €76.60. Brainstoorm is sold as a single pouch, at €42.71, or on subscription.
How much does Juicefast mushroom coffee cost?
€40.70 for two pouches, i.e. €0.68 per serving, and €76.60 for four, i.e. €0.64 per serving, prices recorded on 6 October 2026. Shipping is free over €60.
Can you get a refund on Juicefast?
The product page shows a 14-day satisfaction guarantee, and states further down that returns are possible within 30 days for an unopened product in its original condition. Mush n Go refunds Brainstoorm for 60 days, even once the pouch is open.
What is the difference between Juicefast and Brainstoorm?
Juicefast combines Robusta coffee, lion's mane, reishi and rhodiola, with 65 mg of caffeine. Brainstoorm contains no coffee: lion's mane, cordyceps, chaga, maca and ashwagandha, with 20 mg of caffeine, on a base of roasted chicory.
Who makes Juicefast coffee?
The product is marketed by Juicefast d.o.o., a company based in Slovenia. The page does not say where it is made. Brainstoorm is made in France, near Toulouse.
Sources
- Juicefast. “Kava s gljivama” product page, label, purchase conditions and returns policy, juicefast.hr. Accessed on 6 October 2026.
- Laboratoire FGnutra. Product technical data sheet “Brainstoorm Café 180 g”, edition of 28 January 2026.
- Laboratoire FGnutra. Product technical data sheet “Café Brainstoorm V5” (chocolate hazelnut flavour), edition of 8 July 2025.
- EFSA Panel on Dietetic Products, Nutrition and Allergies (2015). Scientific Opinion on the safety of caffeine. EFSA Journal, 13(5):4102.
- Commission Regulation (EU) No 432/2012 establishing a list of permitted health claims made on foods (vitamin B5).
Juicefast is a trademark of its owner. The information about this product is what the brand publishes; it may have changed since it was recorded. Spotted a mistake? Write to us and we will correct it.
Further reading
Before you choose, see how to read a label and what caffeine changes in your day.
Discover our mushroom and adaptogenic plant supplements
Our vegan formulas, made in Toulouse by a French manufacturer.















